Marmalade Table Toppers

A recap of my week .

DSCN2595

I separated the browns and yellows from my Marmalade charm pack by MODA and made 2 table toppers.

The brown is backed and bound in a plain brown linen look cotton.

The quilting is simple diagonals and straight stitches on the borders.

I like it’s simplicity.

DSCN2596

The colour combination of red and yellow together makes me think of the country and summer.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I backed and bound this table topper with a tiny red and white gingham.

I need lots more practice in free motion stitching.

It is a lot harder than it looks.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I liked this star embroidery stitch on my Janome, as it looks hand stitched.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I sewed the white borders on the two Marmalade runners I pieced on holidays.

I used my white Kona jellyroll strips for quick precut borders.

The white borders have really brought out the colours in the table runners.

So fresh and summery.

I love the Marmalade fabric collection.

DSCN2605

We headed to Warrandyte yesterday for a few hours alongside the river.

Had some yummy afternoon tea from the local Bakery.

DSCN2598

Love this mosaiic chair.

DSCN2597

Were entertained by the local ducks riding the river current up and down.

DSCN2602

Spending time in the garden with a cuppa.

Loving the smell of my next door neighbour’s Lilac bush that hangs over our adjoining fence.

DSCN2577

The roses are coming out .

DSCN2580

Nurturing the vegie garden. My first ever attempt at growing lettuce.

The big pot of lettuce is growing very well and we harvested the first leaves this week.

DSCN2586

The cherry tomatoes have doubled in size and we look like having a good crop.

DSCN2587

The herb garden is doing well with Basil, mint, coriander,spring onions and rosemary.

My son has decided to grow basil and strawberries in the old concrete laundry tub.

He needs to find a way of educating one big black dog to not stand in the tub.

DSCN2588

DSCN2590

Today on the stove are pears poached in Rose wine.

The recipe was kindly given to me by the proprietor of a winery that we visited on holiday.

It is an easy one and the taste is divine.

Pears in Rose

Cut 8 pears in half and core.

Place 1 cup of sugar into a large saucepan.

Pour in 1 whole bottle of Rose wine.

Dissolve the sugar into the Rose , over a low heat.

Add the pears and simmer uncovered until pears are soft.

Reduce the liquid syrup to your liking.

Lovely served cold with vanilla ice cream.

DSCN2610

DSCN2609

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Hope you had great week and are enjoying your weekend.

Til next time.

Cheers Linny J

12 thoughts on “Marmalade Table Toppers

  1. You have been busy – I do like your garden, it reminds me of my Adelaide days (thank goodness I will go back one day). Love the Lilac – I can smell it :) . All round a nice week for you.

    PS- in my experience, black dogs (or dogs of any colour) can be quite resistant to learning not to do certain things in the garden :)

    • Thanks Sarah. I know what you mean about black dogs and resistance. This one can play deaf and dumb when it suits him but rustle anything in the kitchen and he is all ears. It doesn’t help the garden having a possum plague and a den of foxes living behind us.

    • Table toppers are a really quick and achievable project.They are also a great way to use up fabric scraps and leftover wadding from the bigger quilts I make. I am so glad that you are inspired by them.

Leave a Reply

